Member Highlights

KEEN National Conference 2020 faculty group

Welcome to the Community!

From Community Catalysts and KEEN Leaders to KEEN Rising Stars and more, come meet a few of the many wonderful people you'll get to know on Engineering Unleashed. 

Want to browse all members right away? Click the yellow button!

Not yet a member? Click here to join.

Community Catalysts 

Community Catalysts are a group of faculty across the nation who help make the community a thriving place. Meet three of our current Catalysts below. You can connect with the cohort on your cards or in the forums, about ideas and for feedback; they're happy to help! Learn more about Community Catalysts and how to become one yourself.

Ranen McLanahan

A. L. Ranen McLanahan

Assistant Professor

University of Wisconsin - Platteville

Ranen started in industry on a floating factory ship. In 2014, he received the Arthur M. Kaplan Award for his teaching, outreach, and innovation. He offers professional training nation-wide.
Nadya Shalamova

Nadya Shalamova

Associate Professor, Director of the User Experience and Communication Design Program

Milwaukee School of Engineering

Nadya is a user experience evangelist and champion for the University Innovation Fellows. As a CREATE Faculty Fellow, she engages students in active, experiential and applied learning.
David Olawale

David Olawale

Assistant Professor

University of Indianapolis

David combines practical technology commercialization experience from co-founding two technology startup companies and serving as a consultant for others. He has over fifty publications.

KEEN Leaders

KEEN Leaders are the people driving and leading their school's KEEN initiative on campus. Meet three of our current KEEN Leaders, and get inspired by their innovative and transformative work! Learn more about the Kern Entrepreneurial Engineering Network (KEEN).

Engineering Unleashed KEEN Leader   Jenna Carpenter

Jenna Carpenter

Dean and Professor

Campbell University

Jenna is passionate about innovative engineering curricula. She drives a hands-on, project-based approach to engineering education that encourages collaboration & professional service.
Engineering Unleashed KEEN Leader    Ken Bloemer

Ken Bloemer

Director of the Visioneering Center

University of Dayton

Ken Bloemer and his team transform engineering education through advanced pedagogies and entrepreneurially minded learning. He also conducts innovation workshops.
 Engineering Unleashed KEEN Leader    Khanjan Mehta

Khanjan Mehta

Vice Provost for Creative Inquiry

Lehigh University

Khanjan champions the creation of learning environments and ecosystems where students, faculty, and external partners come together to effect constructive and sustainable change.

KEEN Rising Stars

Each year, the Engineering Unleashed community nominates faculty who have gone above and beyond to help instill an entrepreneurial mindset in everyone they encounter. Three will go on to receive the KEEN Rising Star award for their institutions. Learn more about the KEEN Rising Stars, and meet past recipients of the award.

KEEN Rising Stars

Engineering Unleashed Rising Star Cristi Bell-Huff

Cristi Bell-Huff

Lecturer and Director of Faculty and Student Training

Georgia Institute of Technology

Cristi received the top award for the 2020 KEEN Rising Star. She has helped countless engineering students acquire entrepreneurially minded skills which they can use for the rest of their lives.
Engineering Unleashed Rising Star Cheryl Bodnar

Cheryl Bodnar

Associate Professor

Rowan University

Cheryl is a 2020 KEEN Rising Star. She helps faculty create unique experiential and entrepreneurial learning opportunities throughout the clinic-based engineering curriculum.
Engineering Unleashed Rising Star Blake Hylton

Blake Hylton

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Coordinator, First Year Engineering Experience

Ohio Northern University

Blake is a 2020 KEEN Rising Star. He helps students look beyond easy answers, persist through false starts and failures, and make connections across multiple disciplines.

Engineering Unleashed 2020 Fellows

Twenty-nine faculty members from twenty-four institutions of higher education across the U.S. have been named the Engineering Unleashed 2020 Fellows, recognized for their contribution to entrepreneurial engineering. Learn more about the Fellowship and meet all the recipients for 2020 here.

Julie Vernon

Julie Vernon

Assistant Dean of Academic Programs

Vanderbilt University

Julie works in the field of STEM educational research. Areas of focus include student retention and implementation of innovative pedagogy and technology.
Ken Van Treuren

Kenneth Van Treuren

Associate Dean of Research and Faculty Development and Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Baylor University

After serving as USAF pilot in KC-135 and KC-10 aircraft, Ken completed his D.Phil. in Engineering from Oxford University, UK. Ken has also served as a Community Catalyst.
Deeksha Seth

Deeksha Seth

Assistant Teaching Professor

Villanova University

Deeksha develops interactive robots that can teach integrated biology and engineering principles to K-12 students in classrooms and museums.

Engineering Unleashed Ambassadors

Engineering Unleashed Ambassadors are members of KEEN Partner institutions who hold leadership roles in their professional societies at the regional or national level. They serve as liaisons to their professional societies and promote the entrepreneurial mindset and KEEN to society members. Learn more about the Engineering Unleashed Ambassadors.

Jean Andino

Jean Andino

Associate Professor

Arizona State University

Jean's goal is to help to train and inspire the next generation of innovators. Professional Societies: SHPE, ACS, AIChE, AWMA.
Glenn Gaudette

Glenn Gaudette

Professor and Chair

Boston College

Glenn's research aims to develop a treatment for heart and CV diseases. Professional Societies: AIMBE, NAI, BMES.
Bill Schell

Bill Schell

Associate Professor

Montana State University

Bill finds ways to make engineers better leaders and organizations better at change. Professional Societies: ASEM, ASEE, IISE, CEEA, AAEE.

ASEE Best Card Competition Winners

The American Society for Engineering Education's (ASEE) Best Card Competition runs in tandem with ASEE's Annual Conference. Presenters are eligible to enter the competition by submitting their materials on an Engineering Unleashed card, where a peer review process designates the winners. View the winning cards and connect with their authors! Learn more about the ASEE Best Card Competition, and meet all the winners throughout the years.

Stephanie Gillespie

Stephanie Gillespie

Associate Dean

University of New Haven

Stephanie took first place for: "Prototyping via Makerspace Training in First-Year-Engineering," redesigning a course to add the benefits of learning in the makerspace.
Chao Wang

Chao Wang

Senior Lecturer

Arizona State University

Chao took second place for: "An Open Ended Design Project Promoting Autonomy in an Introduction to Engineering Course," supporting free choice and student autonomy.
Cheryl Bodnar & Elise Barrella

Cheryl Bodnar and Elise Barrella

Assistant Professor, Rowan University

CEO and Founder, DfX Consulting LLC

Cheryl and Elise took third place for: "'Master' Entrepreneurial Mindset Concept Map," providing the Who, What, Why, and How for engineering education.

KEEN National Conference

Find other faculty and staff across the community to connect with! 

Browse through all members, or search members using keywords and phrases.